glimpses of laughter are treasured along the road


7:30 AM rolled around bright an early Friday morning and off we went for the LH blood test.  I got a call that afternoon to say I was surging (day 14) and off to the clinic we should go on Saturday.

Saturday rolled around and I was bound and determined to remain calm and as relaxed as possible.  DH and I had spoken about this issue of me getting stressed, wound up and just very tightly strung as we are ramping up again.  The 3 month break was great for us just to get some equilibrium but he mentioned that he saw tinges of the crazy being awoken in me again as we get closer to the IUI, the TWW and then the POAS.  So all that to say that I’ve made a conscious effort to remain a bit more in control, make sure I stay healthy diet wise and this also helps my mental health.

The visit to the clinic was probably the easiest one yet.  It was with a nurse I hadn’t met before and I was nervous but trying to stay calm.  I was surprised how little this IUI hurt.  I’ve had one before that reduced me to tears it was so painful.  The nurse mentioned that she put some gel on the speculum and it made all the difference.  I also read in my Pre-Seed book that you can use some of the product before an IUI to assist with the speculum which makes so much sense and something I wish I knew about before.

I was chatting with the nurse about our history and afterwords she asked if we needed a lab requisition for the beta testing and I said yes we need one please.  She said to test around 17 days after the procedure so around the 12 or 13 of Sept.  I said I’d be in first thing on the 12th and she said “I thought you might” and we had a little chuckle about it.  See, I can laugh at my crazy.

Today I’ve kept things nice and light and ate really healthy.  DH has been lovely and we’ve just decided to keep it as low key as we can.  I’ve picked up the progesterone and am not looking forward to the constipation they bring.  We went to the grocery store (how fascinating is this?) and I was rubbing my stomach and loudly wondering to DH where the prunes were.  I started laughing at myself and then he said SUPER loudly “why, is it for your constipation?”  At least we find ourselves entertaining.

On another note and something that COMPLETELY made my life… Mel of Stirrup Queens mentioned me on her Friday roundup.  Talk about being completely blown away.  Thank you to all who stopped by and took the time to read more and my post that she featured.  Your support and well wishes mean the world to me.  I am very grateful for your kind words.  I can be quite shy IRL when I’m getting to know people so this really made me glow inside.

And now we wait.

6 thoughts on “glimpses of laughter are treasured along the road

  1. Good luck girl! I really hope all goes well. My hubby’s sense of humour also keeps me going.

    I read your other post that you talked about. I think we all have days like that, but I want to send you an extra special hug. It is hard when friends are in different places and don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

