Describe the longest road trip you’ve ever taken.


When I was in college I took a road trip from Vancouver, BC down to Disneyland in California.  It was a fantastic trip and beautiful scenic drive.  We went to Huntington Beach and drove along Tin Barn Road and checked out the Oregon coastline on the way back.  The forest was spectacular and the coastline was just gorgeous.  We eventually cut back to the highway though as the road was so windy and we had to get back as classes were going to start.

Another time I flew down to Los Angeles, rented a blue Ford Mustang convertible and drove all around California, Utah and Nevada.  The Grand Canyon was the highlight of that trip.

This weekend my husband and I drove up to my parents place on Vancouver Island.  We took a 1 hour and 45 minute ferry ride and then pointed the car north for about 4 hours until the road stopped and we were finally here!  It’s been great so far, visiting, golfing, shopping and relaxing.  I just wish I could have a glass of wine!  I even tortured myself and went into the liquor store to pick up some beer for DH and also got a nice bottle of Reisling Dr. Loosen for my mum.  Yum.  We’re hoping to go fishing in the next day or two and I’m really looking forward to it.

Project Relaxation is underway

3 thoughts on “Describe the longest road trip you’ve ever taken.

  1. All of those trips sound wonderful! R and I have a dream of renting a convertible and driving down the California coast, but we haven’t done it yet. We tried to drive part of it on the way home from my dad’s funeral a few months ago even though it was a bit out of the way, because we figured it would probably be the last time we’d be in California for a while. We started in Monterey and went south, but the Pacific Coast Highway was closed a little bit south of Big Sur. (We didn’t believe the road signs warning of the closure – we figured they couldn’t *really* close the highway since there isn’t an alternate route – so we kept going until we were proven wrong.

    We wound up having to turn around and drive for two hours over the coastal mountain range on a road that was really only wide enough for one car even though it was a two-lane road, and it had the mountain on the driver’s side and a very steep cliff on the passenger’s (my) side, with no guardrail in most places. R is afraid of heights but I’m usually pretty okay with it, so it was a good thing that he had the mountain side. 🙂 It was also raining at times. But the scenery was beautiful, and because of the road, we had to go slow, so we got to enjoy it rather than just whizzing by it.

    We usually don’t mind a detour/adventure when traveling, so it was fine – it’s a good memory and story. But unfortunately we still didn’t get to see all of the coast! Oh well, maybe next time we can get that convertible and do it right…

  2. Well, my longest road trip was from Guaymas to Mexico City, with some friends from college. It took us three days to get there. I am glad you got to spend some time with your family, I hope you enjoyed it a lot.

Leave a Reply

