This is a weird time for me….


….being in limbo.

I’ve also decided that I have a weird relationship with food.  Well, I always knew that I did, I guess I’m just now acknowledging, verbalizing and immortalizing it here.  Here are some of my strange rules:

If something tastes bad or I don’t like it I hate having to count it in my calories.

If I LOVE something I think it should have more calories than it does.  I am sometimes still surprised by the fact that a donut has less calories than a bagel.  Not that I love donuts but..  On this same theme, I now no longer drink fraps from Starbucks etc., and only order skinny lattes or drip coffee—-I was SHOCKED to learn the calories in fraps.  It’s not FOOD it shouldn’t have that many calories

I forget to count juice calories

If I throw up I don’t think I should have to count the crackers and ginger ale in my calories as I eat them to feel better

Have endo, fibromyalgia, IBS and a slightly elevated cholesteral I really really really need to be on point with my food intake.  I’m SO not.  It literally pains me when I don’t eat properly.  I can’t figure out why I can’t get it together.  I feel the same way about exercise.  I feel so much better when I manage to make it to a fitness class – why don’t I go more often.

Some things that have worked for me

Eliminate red meat.  I have managed to do this almost 85% of the time.  I hardly ever eat this even though I adore filet mignon and roast beef

Raw vegetables – I can hardly ever eat these.  Cauliflower especially, this has been totally eliminated, the pain isn’t worth it.  I can still eat a salad/salad ingredients but not too much celery, peppers and brocolli.  Only a few carrot sticks

I love fruit but get an allergic reaction to eating cherries and apples.  I love oranges, mangos, strawberries, raspberries, kiwi fruit, grapes (sometimes), pears except I hate the skin.  Banana only occasionally and usually only in a smoothie.  Otherwise they make me constipated along with too much bread and eggs.

White bread has been almost 90% eliminated.  I hate going out for dinner and they bring the bread basket.  J loves bread so telling them not to bring it out is NOT an option.  I don’t eat a lot of whole wheat bread either as too much can push me over the edge into stomach pain.  On that same vein, pasta has been almost eliminated.  Every now and then I will have whole wheat spaghetti with turkey instead of ground beef.

I can’t handle nuts except for cashews which are way to many calories.  Almonds also give me a strange allergic reaction.

I love shellfish but have learned from my acupuncturist that I really should avoid this.  Fish is still ok and I try to eat this more – it’s tasty and good for me it doesn’t hurt my stomach.  I sometimes like sushi but avoid the soy sauce, wasabi and ginger.

Raw garlic = pain.  I have a love/hate relationship with tzitzaki.  It also makes me SO thirsty and crave sugar.

I love eggs but sometimes the thought of them makes me so grossed out.  Sometimes I eat them a lot and then I’ll go off them for ages.

I’m also trying to remove milk from my diet.  Cheese has been gradually cut back. I have yet to remove chocolate and I’m trying almond milk but it’s disgusting.  I love my morning tea with milk.  Sigh

Things I still need to work on

  • Chocolate
  • Chips
  • Candy
  • Baked goods
  • Lattes
  • Potatoes
  • Sugar
  • Eat more fruit, veggies
  • Drink more water – some days I manage to drink 2 litres.  I keep a jug of water at my desk at work and if I fill it up in the morning I will drink it all throughout the day.  I am amazed at my own laziness of not filling the jug up every morning.  It takes me 30 seconds and some days I just don’t do it because I can’t get myself to the kitchen to fill it up.

If I stay on point I can sneak a few treats in.  If I sneak too many treats in the next one will send me over the edge.  It’s not rocket science, I just need to get it together.

All the foods I shouldn’t eat are a varying shade of brown/beige.  If I eat brightly coloured it makes me happy (obviously NOT skittles).

6 thoughts on “This is a weird time for me….

  1. I could have written this exact post!! Near enough all your bad foods are my bad foods. I also have IBS and endo and have to be so careful what I eat!!
    I have found eating wheat free pasta really helps,I bloat less and have less cramps. I also only drink lactofree milk and rarely have cheese (although I LOVE it!)
    I find onions can upset me as well!
    Problem is, I love food, but food does not love me!!
    x

  2. Yep. I’m the same way. I’ve given up on fried foods, not even on “cheat” days, because it’s not worth it. I need to give up white flour, but I’m bad. It’s just so frustrating! Good job, you are doing fabulous!

  3. Pingback: My endometrial biopsy experience | Endo&beyond

  4. I keep cups of ice in the freezer and a pitcher of water in the fridge and I’m still too lazy to get some sometimes. And I’ll keep reviewing non-dairy milk alternatives as I try them!

    Brightly colored foods make me happy too, especially orange and yellow bell peppers, but those taste disgusting.

Leave a Reply

